April 14, 2024

Edo APC: Imuse Resigns, Tenebe Takes Over Chairmanship


All Progressives Congress

Spread the love

By Reporter

Ahead of the All Progressives Congress (APC) primary election to elect the party’s flag bearer for the September 21, 2024 Governorship Election in Edo State, the State Chairman, Retired Col (Dr.) David Imuse has resigned from office.

His resignation is in line with relevant sections of the APC constitution. Imuse’s resignation is contained in an internal memo, obtained by Midwest Herald.

The memo dated January 15, 2024, was addressed to the Deputy State Chairman and reads in part: “In pursuant to Article 31 (2) (iii) of the All Progressives Congress Constitution 2022 as amended, I have decided to voluntarily resign my position as the State Chairman of this great party in the state.

“This is born out of my desire to enable me get myself in the state of readiness to contest the next gubernatorial election in the state which is slated for 21st of September 2024.

“I want to sincerely thank every member of this great party most especially, the State Working Committee and State Executive Committee for this rare opportunity given me to serve at the Apex Office of the party in Edo State.”

The APC commenced the screening of all 26 governorship aspirants yesterday, January 15, 2024 in Abuja. A total of 11 aspirants were screened yesterday.

Read Also: Exclusive: APC Cedes 2024 Governorship Ticket to Edo South

Those already screened includes: Col David Imuse; Mr. E.J. Agbonayinma; Mr. Emmanuel Okoebor; Mr. Saturday Iwuleikhue; Engr. Gideon Ikhine; Mr. Augustine Ojiezele; Mr. Festus Ebea; Mr. Gideon Obhakhan; Mr. Joe Ikpea; Ms Victoria Amu and Mr. Thomas Okosun.

Others to be screened today are: Dr. Washington Osifo; Mr. Sunday Dekeri Anamero; Mr. Kassim Afegbua; Prof Osariemen Osunbor; Dr. Ernest Afolabi Umakhihe; Arch Mike Onolememe; Prince Clem Agba; Gen Charles Airhiavbare; Mr. Dennis Idahosa; Pst Osagie Ize Iyamu; Mr. Lucky Imasuen; Prof Odion Ikhaine; Sen Monday Okpebholo; Mr. Mattew Atama; Mr. Victor Eboigbe; Mr. Victor Edoror; Mr. Blessing Agbonmere, and Engr. Chris Ogiemwonyi.

Read Also: Edo APC Celebrates ‘Fresh Hope’ as Dr. Ernest Umakhihe Flags Off Governorship Campaign

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *