July 20, 2024

Edo 2024: Ize-Iyamu Pulls Out, Endorses Okpebholo, Cites Oshiomhole’s Interference

Spread the love

By Correspondent

All is not well with the All Progressives Congress (APC) in Edo State as the party heads to the primary election, tomorrow, divided.

Midwest Herald has learnt that a leading aspirants, Pastor Osagie Ize-Iyamu has stepped aside from the February 17, 2024 APC primary election, citing “undue interference by Comrade Senator Adams Oshiomhole.”

Comrade Senator Adams Oshiomhole, Edo APC leader

Ize-Iyamu has also endorsed Senator Monday Okpebholo from Edo Central and directed his supporters across the state to line behind him and ensure his victory.

This latest development was made known to Midwest Herald via a telephone conversation earlier today. Ize-Iyamu is expected to brief his supporters today on his decision, which he explained is based on the need to safeguard the APC’s interest in the forthcoming September 21, 2024 governorship election in Edo State.

The party has been battling to control the upsurge of aspirants that were encouraged by the no zoning stance of the opposition party.

The number peaked at 29 before an intervention by the leader, Comrade Senator Adams Oshiomhole to encourage reduction of the aspirants.

In the final analysis, twelve persons eventually bought the expression of interest and nomination forms at a whopping sum of N50million.

The aspirants included Clem Agba, Monday Okpebholo, Lucky Imasuen, Anamero Dekeri, Osagie Ize-Iyamu, a two-time governorship candidate in the state; Gideon Ikhine and David Imuse, a retired colonel.

Others are Charles Ehigie Airhiavbere, a retired general; Oserheimen Osunbor, a former governor of the state that was removed from office by court, Blessing Agbomhere, Dennis Idahosa and Ernest Afolabi Umakhihe.

Worried by the number, the APC leaders established the Prof Julius Ihonvbere’s committee to reduce the size. But this process kicked off the problem that has engulfed the party.

First Ihonvbere was quoted to have scored six high and without further screening, words went around that the leaders eventually settled for four, two each from Edo Central and Edo South.

This decision started internal wrangling that has snowballed into an open resistance to the alleged preferred choice of Mr. Dennis Idahosa by Comrade Oshiomhole, by some aspirants and their supporters.

Some of the aspirants have cited reasons for their opposition to Idahosa, which they believe will give the ruling People’s Democratic Party, PDP, ready ammunition to campaign against the APC.

Read Also: Edo Polls: Ihonvbere’s Committee Shortlisted Idahosa, Umakhihe, Imasuen, Imuse, Okpebholo, Others Free To Contest – APC

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *